Click on the banner to join the excellent German Helmet Walhalla forum where you can chat with hundreds of collectors from all over the world. See you there.

Is this real? Help

Page 1 of 2Next

Hello everyone,

I am very new to the buying end of collecting. My small collection consists of gifts given to me. But now that I am out of college and have time to learn about the hobby, I want to continue collecting on my own. I want to start with something simple and relatively inexpensive since student loans are priority and I found a helmet dug from the ground. I don't mind the quality, because perhaps it has quite a story. What I don't know is whether the SS decal is fake or not. I have done a fair deal of reading on how to spot fakes, but its so much to absorb all it once that I feel I could easily overlook something. Any opinions on the matter are greatly appreciated! Thanks for your time!

All the best,

Aaron

Uploaded files:
  • You need to login to have access to uploads.

Hello Aaron , which dealer is selling this ?

As I said in my e-mail ground finds are hard to authenticate , any marking or lot number can help. We know that some helmet factories did not produce for the SS.

unfortunately many ground dug helmets are upgraded to SS so that makes it even harder.

Maybe an above ground found Luftwaffe is a better option.

Hello Aaron welcome.

I am pretty sure that in this case (as well as others) even if the seller is a reliable one, he can't say if it's original or not.

Better to save some money. some combats are not so expensive

Good advice given

Save for a complete, collectible example

Thanks, D.

Quote from schwerpunkt73 on January 25, 2020, 9:40 pm

Hello Aaron , which dealer is selling this ?

As I said in my e-mail ground finds are hard to authenticate , any marking or lot number can help. We know that some helmet factories did not produce for the SS.

unfortunately many ground dug helmets are upgraded to SS so that makes it even harder.